Expanding Literacy

Expanding Literacy: Bringing Digital Storytelling into Your Curriculum

 

Guest Presenter: Brett Pierce, Meridian Stories 

 

Students are coming into a communicative world that is simultaneously text-based and digital. Two literacies. The question that educators and school leaders must ask: Are we preparing our kids to be meaningful contributors to this second literacy: the digital universe? If the dialogue that propels our current culture is primarily happening inside of myriad digital platforms that subsist on a mix of text, sound, music, and imagery, then our students need to be prepared to be productive and articulate participants on these digital platforms. They need to be substantive digital creators—storytellers. 

 

DATE: Wednesday, October 5, 2022

TIME: 7 PM EST/ 6 PM CST / 5 PM MST / 4 PM PST

LOCATION:  Free. Online. Click here to register. 

 

Learn more about how to make digital storytelling a part of your curriculum with Brett Pierce, author of Expanding Literacy: Bringing Digital Storytelling into Your Curriculum.